Creamy sweet potato and pepper korma

I love curries, and I particularly love how experimental you can be with them when, as a vegan, choices are sometimes limited. I usually use tomato as a base when I’m cooking curry, but I decided to be adventurous and try one with no tomato in at all.

korma 1As with any curry, start off with your onions and garlic on a medium heat, and fry ’em up until the onions are translucent and soft. Start to build up a spice base with the onions: I usually start with a good sprinkle of cumin and coriander, and add whatever else I fancy while I’m cooking. While they’re frying, start chopping up your other veg. I was using sweet potatoes, green peppers, with some ginger and red chillies (basically just the things I had left in my fridge).

korma 2

Still completely improvising, I chucked the sweet potato in with the onion, and fried the peppers, chillies and ginger in a separate frying pan. I added a tin of coconut milk to the onion/sweet potato pan, and brought it to a simmer.

korma 3

When the peppers were soft and cooked through, I added them to the main mixture, and continued simmering. I kept adding water and simmering it down so that there was enough to boil the sweet potato.

korma 5

At this stage, it was pretty much done. I put some rice on the hob to boil, and kept simmering the mixture and adding more water until it was nice and thick.

I’m actually really proud of this curry, and since I’m a fan of creamy curries it was pretty much perfect. As to everyone else reading this: if you’ve never tried making a curry because you think it’s too complicated (I used to think that, too), it really isn’t. I keep trying different types, and while I’m not perfect, I get better every time, and the finished product is always completely vegan, and so much healthier than the curries you can get in restaurants or as ready meals.

Curry away!

korma 6

Leave a comment